Myostatin

This Post is also available in: German

In 1997, for the first time, the growth and development factor “Myostatin” was described by scientists Alexandra McPherron, Se-Jin Lee and Ravi Kambadurder from Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, USA. Myostatin is a protein that is formed in the human or animal body. It inhibits muscle growth, so the muscles do not grow without controll.

A series of experiments with mice, in which the genetics was manipulated in such a way that myostatin was missing, led to a massive increase in the muscle mass of the animals. The mice were known as “Mighty Mice”.
Shortly afterwards, two cattle races (Blue-White Belgians, Blanc Bluebelts, Belgian Blue Cattle and Piedmontese) were known, which were extremely muscular. Myostatin disorder was the reason.

In 2004, a mutation of the myostatin gene was detected in a German boy, which resulted in the formation of a shortened and thus not fully functional myostatin protein. The boy has been muscular since birth.

Although it is possible to antagonize myostatin protein in mice, more or less successfully, which is a first step towards gene doping, however, it is still a long way to use myostatin for gene doping purposes in humans.

Compared to gene doping with myostatin, there are conventional therapeutic approaches that have already been successful in the animal experiment by directly blocking the natural myostatin effect. The goal is to be able to treat muscle degenerative diseases one day. An antibody name MYO-029 (Stamulumab), which inhibits natural myostatin, has been tested in a clinical trial. Although this had not been a significant success, a more targeted inhibitor might have a better effect.

Black market prices / availability:

There are no myostatin inhibitors. (As of 10/2008)

Counterfeits:

There are no myostatin inhibitors. (As of 10/2008)

Synonyms:

Growth / differentiation factor-8, GDF-8, GDF8, myostatins

Trade Name / Manufacturer:

[Not available]

Chemical / biological information:

Molecular Formula:
Molecular weight: 25.0 kDa
Half-life:

Myostatin

Dieser Beitrag ist auch verfügbar auf: Englisch

Im Jahr 1997 wurde erstmals der Wachstums- und Entwicklungsfaktor „Myostatin“ von den Wissenschaftlern Alexandra McPherron, Se-Jin Lee und Ravi Kambadurder von der Johns Hopkins Universität, Baltimore, USA beschrieben. Myostatin ist ein Protein, welches im menschlichen oder tierischen Körper gebildet wird. Es hemmt das Muskelwachstum, so dass die Muskeln nicht unkontrolliert wachsen.

Eine Versuchsreihe mit Mäusen, bei denen die Genetik so manipuliert wurde, dass Myostatin fehlte, führte zu einem massiven Anstieg der Muskelmasse der Tiere. Die Mäuse wurden als „Mighty Mice“ bekannt.
Kurze Zeit später wurden zwei Rinderrassen (Blauweiße Belgier [Blanc-Bleu Belge, Belgian Blue Cattle] und Piedmontese) bekannt, die extrem Muskulös waren. Eine Myostatinstörung war der Grund.

2004 wurde bei einem deutschen Jungen eine Mutation des Myostatin-Gens festgestellt, die die Bildung eines verkürzten und somit nicht voll funktionsfähigen Myostatin Proteins zur Folge hatte. Der Junge ist seit seiner Geburt ungewöhnlich muskulös.

Zwar gelingt es Ansatzweise bei Mäusen das Myostatinprotein – mehr oder minder erfolgreich – zu antagonisieren, was ein erster Schritt in Richtung Gendoping ist, jedoch ist es noch ein weiter Weg, bis Myostatin für Gendopingzwecke am Menschen verwendet werden kann.

Gegenüber dem Gendoping mit Myostatin stehen konventionelle therapeutische Ansätze, die über eine direkte Blockade der natürlichen Myostatinwirkung im Tierversuch bereits erfolgreich waren. Ziel ist es, eines Tages muskeldegenerative Erkrankungen behandeln zu können. Ein Antikörper Namens MYO-029 (Stamulumab), der das natürliche Myostatin hemmt wurde in einer klinischen Studie geprüft. Dies hatte zwar keinen signifikanten Erfolg, aber möglicherweise kann aber mit einem gezielteren Inhibitor eine bessere Wirkung erreicht werden.

Schwarzmarktpreise / Verfügbarkeit:

Es gibt noch keine Myostatinhemmer. (stand: 10/2008)

Fälschungen:

Es gibt noch keine Myostatinhemmer. (stand: 10/2008)

Synonyme:

growth/differentiation factor-8, GDF-8, GDF8, Myostatine

Handelsnamen / Hersteller:

[Not available]

Chemische / Biologische Informationen:

Molekularformel:
Molekulargewicht: 25.0 kDA
Halbwertzeit: